top of page
DSC_0044 Kopie_edited_edited.jpg

Theater for Youth - An training course on the Theater of the Oppressed Methodology

 

06-13 November 2022
Far-sighted house, Guggisberg BE / Switzerland

Theater of the Oppressed is an innovative pedagogical method aimed at people who have no experience of acting or performing on stage or in public. Using the Theater of the Oppressed method, participants can discover encouraging solutions for everyday life when working with young people. The learning experience can be used by youth workers, social workers, teachers and educators to analyze and discover difficulties in real life situations, to build trust, mutual respect and understanding not only on stage but also in everyday life to accomplish.

"THEATER FOR YOUTH" is an action-oriented training for youth workers and professionals who deal with and work on anti-discrimination, human rights protection and intercultural learning.

background

Young people across Europe are at high risk of social exclusion and poverty, stemming from human rights violations and discrimination based on nationality, religion, gender, sexual orientation, socio-economic status, etc. Education for JYouth professionals and other educators are very important in challenging situations that they face together with young people. They need to improve and pass on their skills that young people acquire through educational activities and volunteer work in youth organizations. 

contents

-Human rights issues and discussions to understand what they are and how their violation manifests itself (discrimination, stereotypes and prejudice)

- Creative theater workshops on Augusto Boal's Theater of the Oppressed and how it can be integrated into the practice of the youth work of the participants  .

- Elaboration of forum plays reflecting the themes relevant to the participants and their youngsters.

- In particular, the group will explore/investigate how this methodology can be used to research social inclusion and support the participation of young people.

- Give participants the opportunity to practice their moderation skills and in particular to learn how to be a "joker" in forum theater.

- Give the participants a space to develop local and international projects with their young people.

- Design, write and present action plans for their local community.

Below you will find some impressions and words concerning the Theatre to Youth 2022:

In the 2022 edition, 18 participants from Bulgaria, Germany, Israel, Palestine, Kosovo, Macedonia, Switzerland and Serbia went there. 

 

At the beginning of the week, playful methods were used to facilitate contact and thus make it easier to get to know each other. Then the focus was on the theory of 'theatre of the oppressed'. Then the respective groups presented the sequences they had studied. This led to intensive exchanges, discussions about possible modifications and improvised interventions. Finally, each national group met to imagine and present concrete projects that could be realised in the future. 

 

This week showed that cultural differences can sometimes be very important. Nevertheless, there is always a unifying element. This element must be consolidated as much as possible in order to grow and to tackle positive changes together. 

 

The participants in this programme, as well as the young people in their respective countries, benefit from the experiences gained, the newly created networks and the discussions around the themes of discrimination, oppression and human rights.   

 

In a nutshell: 

A great week - amazing people - want more!

bottom of page

DSC_0044 Kopie_edited_edited.jpg

Le théâtre pour les jeunes -
Un cours de formation sur la méthodologie du théâtre de l'opprimé

6 novembre 2022 -13 novembre 2022 

"Weitblick-Haus" (Maison panoramique), Guggisberg BE / Suisse

Le théâtre de l'opprimé est une méthode éducative innovante, qui s'adresse à des personnes n'ayant aucune expérience du jeu ou de l'expression sur scène ou en public. Avec la méthode du théâtre de l'opprimé, les participants peuvent découvrir des solutions autonomisantes pour la vie quotidienne tout en travaillant avec des jeunes. L'expérience d'apprentissage peut être mise en œuvre par les travailleurs de jeunesse, les travailleurs sociaux, les enseignants et les éducateurs pour analyser et découvrir les difficultés dans des situations de la vie réelle, pour établir la confiance, le respect mutuel et la compréhension non seulement sur la scène, mais aussi dans la vie de tous les jours.

"THEATER FOR YOUTH" est un cours de formation basé sur l'action, conçu pour les travailleurs de jeunesse et les professionnels qui s'occupent et travaillent sur l'antidiscrimination, la protection des droits de l'homme et l'apprentissage interculturel.

 

Contexte

Partout en Europe, les jeunes sont exposés à un risque élevé d'exclusion sociale et de pauvreté en raison de la violation des droits de l'homme et de la discrimination fondée sur la nationalité, la religion, le sexe, l'orientation sexuelle, le statut socio-économique, etc. L'éducation pour les jeunes

Les travailleurs sociaux et les autres éducateurs jouent un rôle très important dans les situations difficiles auxquelles ils sont confrontés avec les jeunes. Ils doivent améliorer leurs compétences et transférer celles que les jeunes acquièrent par le biais d'activités éducatives et du volontariat dans les organisations de jeunesse.

Contenu

- Questions et discussions sur les droits de l'homme afin de comprendre ce qu'ils sont, les manifestations de leur violation (discrimination, stéréotypes     et préjugés).

- Ateliers de théâtre créatif sur le théâtre de l'opprimé d'Augusto Boal et la façon dont il peut être intégré dans la pratique du travail de jeunesse des         participants.

- Créer des pièces de théâtre forum qui reflètent les questions pertinentes pour les participants et leurs jeunes.

- Plus précisément, le groupe explorera/étudiera comment cette méthodologie peut être utilisée pour explorer l'inclusion sociale et soutenir la                     participation des jeunes.

- Donner aux participants l'occasion de mettre en pratique leurs compétences en matière d'animation et, plus particulièrement, d'être un "joker" dans le   théâtre forum.

- Donner aux participants un espace pour créer des projets locaux et internationaux avec leurs jeunes.

- Concevoir, rédiger et présenter des plans d'action pour leur communauté locale.

Ci-dessous, vous trouverez quelques impressions et mots concernant le Theater to Youth 2022 :

Lors de l'édition 2022, 18 participants de Bulgarie, d'Allemagne, d'Israël, de Palestine, du Kosovo, de Macédoine, de Suisse et de Serbie se sont rendus sur place. 

 

Au début de la semaine, des méthodes ludiques ont permis de faciliter la prise de contact et donc de faire plus facilement connaissance. Ensuite, l'accent a été mis sur la théorie du 'théâtre de l'opprimé'. Ensuite, les groupes respectifs ont présenté les séquences qu'ils avaient étudiées. Des échanges intensifs, des discussions sur les modifications possibles et des interventions improvisées en ont résulté. Pour terminer, chaque groupe national s'est réuni pour imaginer et présenter des projets concrets qui pourraient être réalisés à l'avenir. 

 

Cette semaine a montré que les différences culturelles peuvent parfois être très importantes. Néanmoins, il existe toujours un élément fédérateur. Cet élément doit être consolidé autant que possible afin de grandir et d'aborder des changements positifs en commun. 

 

Les participants à ce programme, tout comme les jeunes dans leurs pays respectifs, profitent des expériences acquises, des réseaux nouvellement créés et des discussions autour des thèmes de la discrimination, de l'oppression et des droits de l'homme.   

 

En bref : 

Une semaine formidable - des gens formidables - encore plus !